Skip to content ↓

Sports Awards

Most committed year 7 award winners Cameron Tredgett & Grace Layzell. Most committed year 8 winners Eleanor Potter and James Elson.  Most committed year 9s Rebecca Dyball and Max Bolton (absent from picture). Overall key stage 3 contribution winners Megan Andrews & Titas Bielskis.


The achievements of young sporting stars at St. Martin’s were recognised at our annual Lower School Sports Awards evening.  2013-14 was an exceptionally successful year of sport at St Martin’s. Three girls’ teams made it through to National Finals and four girls’ teams won their respective Essex Cup competitions. 

Proud families watched as some 400 pupils were honoured in the presentations. Each pupil received a certificate listing the sports in which they had been involved throughout the year. These included ; Athletics, Badminton, Basketball, Cheerleading, Cricket, Cross-Country, Football, Netball, Rounders, Rugby, Swimming and Tennis.

The second half of the evening featured over 70 trophies being awarded to pupils who achieved ‘Player of the Year’ status by Brentwood Mayor, Vicky Davies and Essex Cricketer Thomas Moore.

The most committed pupils in each year group were also honoured with a special award. In Year 7 Grace Layzell and Cameron Tredgett were recognised. In Year 8 the awards went to Eleanor Potter and Max Bolton. The Year 9 recipients were Rebecca Dyball and James Elson.

 The Young Volunteer of the Year award went to 16 year old Amy Renaut for her exceptional commitment to coaching lower school dance and cross country.

A very special trophy was awarded for outstanding dedication to lower school rugby. Sam Walls was proud to receive the ‘Lewis Frazer Memorial Trophy’ from last year’s winner Cameron Scott who delivered an extremely moving speech.

 The evening concluded with the ‘Overall Contribution’ awards being given to the boy and girl deemed to have been the most influential sports persons in the lower school. Rosie Andrews and Titas Bielskis were worthy and popular winners, having being instrumental in many of the school’s successes over the past three years.

 Head of Girls’ PE Mrs Lynne Swan, who organised the event, took time to thank her dedicated PE team and the fantastic support provided by parents.

A full list of player of the year and special award recipients can be viewed here:-

Boy's sports Award List

Girl's Sport Award List

Some of our amazing pupils who achieved player of the year status 2013-14