Skip to content ↓

Pastoral Care

Our distinctive ethos is based on traditional values, including pupils’ personal development, outstanding academic achievement, smart appearance and high standards of behaviour including good manners and courtesy.

We offer a caring and secure environment where pupils are happy and hard working. We have a stimulating curriculum that helps prepare them for university, the workplace, a worthwhile career and a successful life. Every child is special and deserves the best opportunities. 

We work with all pupils to find and develop their individual talents and interests. By giving individual care, support and encouragement we help pupils reach their academic potential.

As part of our emphasis on a caring ethos, we have created four houses at St. Martin’s, namely Roman, Quinlan, Hunter and Becket. Year 7 pupils are allocated to one of these four houses. The year group is the responsibility of a Head of Year leading all 280 pupils in assemblies and other activities. Pupils join a tutor group of around 24 pupils with a tutor who meets the group every day and offers care, guidance and support.

We work closely in conjunction with parents and as part of that partnership we have a dedicated Year Group Administrator attached to each year group. Parents can contact  the Year Group Administrator at any time of the school day to raise concerns or questions. 

Key Pastoral Staff 

Deputy Headteacher Mr K Camy kcamy@st-martins.essex.sch.uk
Director of KS3 Miss H Jackson hjackson@st-martins.essex.sch.uk
Director of KS4 Mr S Smith ssmith@st-martins.essex.sch.uk
 Director of KS5 Mr J Beddow  jbeddow@st-martins.essex.sch.uk
Head of Year 7 Miss M Casey mcasey@st-martins.essex.sch.uk
Head of Year 8 Mr R Bias rbias@st-martins.essex.sch.uk
Head of Year 9 Miss A Bryant abryant@st-martins.essex.sch.uk
Head of Year 10 Mr R Durrance rdurrance@st-martins.essex.sch.uk
Head of Year 11 Mr D Roberts droberts@st-martins.essex.sch.uk

For specific details on each year group, please use the menu on the left to navigate to the pages relevant to you.